Gaming March Madness Round 5

ncaa_march_madness_logo_2016

I’ve purposely waited several days before posting the most up to date bracketology kind of information on the results of the previous round- mainly so that it will somewhat coincide with the soon to follow Final Four round and ensuing championship in the next week or so. I want you to bear in mind that I am not the one selecting which games move onto the next round, rather fate itself is decreeing these moves as I have based the winners upon the winners at that position and seed in real life. As for the seeding process itself, I merely took a look at random at some of the most influential and popular titles of noted quality in the past decade or so and assigned them a number. So again, I’m doing my best to remain unbiased here.

Following this round, I will be doing my best to do a complete playthrough of both titles that end up primed for the championship game. It’s all sort of boiled down to this at this point, and I want there to be some sort of payoff for everyone involved as well. Whether that replay runthrough is documented in a video format for your amusement or whether I simply write several blogs pertaining to it over the course of the next few weeks really remains to be seen. I’ve done something of the sort before and I also don’t particularly enjoy the painstaking effort that comes with video documentation, but we shall see.

Without further ado, I guess we should go ahead and alleviate some of your concerns over who may or may not come out on top in this particular round.

ROUND FOUR RESULTS:

7 THE WITCHER 2 WINS (OVER DRAGON AGE ORIGINS)

1 MASS EFFECT 2 WINS (OVER MIDDLE EARTH SHADOW OF MORDOR)

3 LEFT 4 DEAD WINS (OVER UNCHARTED 2)

1 BORDERLANDS 2 WINS (OVER PORTAL)

Allow me to add in some commentary on this particular round and its results as well, if you please. I think it is particularly interesting how well the results here actually fall in line with how such a competition might go in real life. The Witcher series has a huge following, as does Dragon Age- not to mention they’re highly comparable in terms of direction and genre at times. So that’s an excellent matchup. Likewise, Mass Effect 2’s NCAA counterpart absolutely blew the seed that Shadow of Mordor is stepping in for out of the water- as I imagine could realistically be expected.

When it comes to Uncharted as a series versus Valve’s collective of quality games set within a same or similar universe (in terms of relation between their standalone series), I’m not sure anyone expected Left 4 Dead to trump arguably the best Uncharted title and yet it still happened. Not to be outdone, Valve’s other title of note on this list- Portal, only lost by a meager three points to the equally exceptional and impressive Borderlands 2. Either way with that matchup, I would’ve been happy.

As with the majority of the games in this tournament and on this list, I thankfully own and have already played or experienced each of the final four titles. So no matter who it comes down to in the final game, I can easily blaze through them on repeat for your viewing or reading pleasure. That having been said, three of the four are role-playing games which seems to mean fate has it out for me and I’ll be invested up to my neck in gameplay for roughly a month at this rate.

Moving right on along, let’s take a look at the penultimate matchups of the tournament for this nearly-final round. I’ve also taken the liberty of showing each game’s path to this moment thus far.

7 THE WITCHER 2 V 1 MASS EFFECT 2

3 LEFT 4 DEAD V 1 BORDERLANDS 2

THE WITCHER 2 HAS DEFEATED: THE LAST OF US, BATMAN ARKHAM ASYLUM, MASS EFFECT.

MASS EFFECT 2 HAS DEFEATED: BATMAN ARKHAM CITY, FAR CRY 3, MIRROR’S EDGE.

LEFT 4 DEAD HAS DEFEATED: DIRT 3, DESTINY, MORTAL KOMBAT X.

BORDERLANDS 2 HAS DEFEATED: STARCRAFT II, SLEEPING DOGS, ROCK BAND 2.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Mr. Miniike's Tea-Sipping Reviews

Album reviews and pop culture nothings by a Christian INFP New Yorker turboplebe with no musical talent. Mostly empty gushing. How can you resist?

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

