Musings of a Man Playing Sports Games

Honestly, it’s been a while since I branched out and played different genres than action, adventure, role-playing, horror, survival, etc. Typically I tend to avoid year to year sports games, even the ones I have or the ones I’ve reviewed in the past. But lately I’ve been diving back into Madden, I guess in some attempt to prepare myself for football again or to make amends for not paying attention to my home team so much these past few years.

I have not however been playing the newest thing out there, opting instead for the most recent game I have in the series- Madden 15. I’ve been going through the interesting and fun yet sadly very flawed Connected Franchise mode the past few days, building up several successful seasons as both a wide receiver and linebacker for the Falcons and Chiefs. Who would’ve thought that I’d actually want more access to stats in a game?

The point of this post however is not the game itself nor its flaws, rather some of the interesting tidbits and intricacies in between. For example, I constantly wonder why Colin Kaepernick and the San Fransisco 49ers have had three 14 otr better win seasons in a row, rivaling even my user controlled teams. How could it be that a game released in 2014 accurately portrays Johnny Manziel’s flaming burnout but still has RG3 and Kaep at 93+ overall ratings? How could it be that Tom Brady, who is still kicking it in real life has sunk to an 83 overall and headed a team that only had a winning record two of those three years? It’s questions like these that interest me.

Whoever created the game obviously had a thing for the 49ers and the Jaguars, as these two teams are always secretly powerful in terms of stats and players, if not in terms of tangible success. Sometimes I sit there and think about how downright deadly the Ravens offensive really seems to be initially- I mean I even play as QB for them in another connected franchise file. There’s potential there. But trying to find real-life mirrors of the game world is difficult when taking into account I can play as notables who were injured in the real season and couldn’t carry their teams to victory as they do in Madden.

Leave a Reply

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Mr. Miniike's Tea-Sipping Reviews

Album reviews and pop culture nothings by a Christian INFP New Yorker turboplebe with no musical talent. Mostly empty gushing. How can you resist?

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

