My GIO 30/30- Day Twenty-Three

[As Read on GIO.]

[Titled: Quick Thoughts- Issue #246]

First things first, this blog, for the sake of time to write and time to read, is going to follow a very simple premise for writing. I will mention each small detail with little to no true explanation, under a specific number. For those of you who read them, it’ll be kind of like my GTA V First Impressions and some other blogs that used the numbers, and points- except this won’t have any points to worry about of course. So, here we go then.

1. I don’t hate the cover. In fact, I like the simplified approach. Not the best, but certainly not the worst at all.

2. Andy’s editorial is quite well written, as I’ve come to expect from the McNamara, considering his talent and affinity with them after so many magazines. Truly a leap indeed.

3. Feedback for this month (or past month, rather) is well written by both readers and responders alike. Excellent mentions of Titanfall and TLoU as well.

4. Getting Schooled.

5. When and why did Spyro suddenly decided to get a taste for Dovahkiin?

6. Also, imagining Kim as a renegade is kind of…funny actually. Hmm…

7. Gamescon. I’m jealous, I really am. Stupid work, making me miss out on all the fun for the third time in a row…

8. Reaper of Souls is some much needed good news indeed. Me like.

9. Fez II. Y u no there?

10. Mutant Football making a comeback may have been one of the most unexpected things on Kickstarter, but then again, I’ve seen stranger- and I certainly have no complaints if its any good as the original…

11. I thought that Castlevania article was about Voldemort from the title, and I was like- “That’s not Ralph Fiennes!” But then I read the subheading there…

12. Four Wind Waker ads in a row, back to back? Yes, that is quite okay with me. In fact, this magazine could probably use a few more of them. I’m deadly serious.

13. Bring it on Incognita. I’d like to see you be even better than Mark of the Ninja. If that’s possible.

14. Firefall wasn’t too terrible actually… Granted, it wasn’t too good really either, but hey…

15. Top Ten Ghosts and you don’t even include Simon “Ghost” Riley?! Come on! You even have Call of Duty on the cover! Plus, he’s basically a legitimate ghost now seeing as he and Roach took a few to the face… And he’s always looked the part anyway…

16. Also, Alma is quite scary, yes she is. And evil. And perverted, and mean. And yes…I did enjoy the first two FEAR games quite a lot actually. Not the third though…meh.

17. The Franchise in Transition was an excellent feature, although sadly, to me thus far, it seems like the only franchise with a decent or good footing for this generation’s end, is FIFA…

18. Remedy can do no wrong as far as I’m concerned right now. Despite my own reservations about Quantum Break, I’m intrigued to see how the project turns out…

19. Ewoks!!!!!

20. PS4 may still have the upper hand over Microsoft in terms of Indie developers though, mainly because they’ve generally been a lot nicer to them so far, and first impressions are everything.

21. That October release schedule looks mighty fine with the likes of Beyond, Pokemon, Sonic, Black Flag, and Battlefield 4…

22. I do admit, Dan did an excellent job with his main Ghosts feature. It was pretty spot on in my mind at least.

23. Also, Bertz’s GTAO article not only got me more pumped for GTAO, but it looked epic in every way. Thankfully I have GTA V now.

24. Continuing the triage of awesome articles here is Turi’s Dead Rising 3 feature, which- true to the series, features plenty of gore, carnage, and fun. I’m definitely looking at this as the one sure game I’m getting for Xbox One if/when I get that specific console.

25. Onto the previews section then… Black Flag is getting me pretty hyped still… EverQuest actually looks exciting again for the first time since EverQuest II… Battlefield 4 can do no wrong yet- mainly because Frostbite 3.0 is almighty and heavenly to view… Enemy Within looks promising enough… Mad Max looks like Borderlands and Rage had a crazy baby…. Ryse doesn’t look half bad, and the graphics are phenomenal… Fable Legends sounds okay, but I’m still a little skeptical after Heroes and Journey tanking… Infinity’s getting some DLC, which is neat… The Sims 4 isn’t really a shocker, but it’s basically a necessity now… Watch Dogs just keeps getting better… Telltale’s next animated action story sounds like an epic tale…

26. Splinter Cell: Blacklist might have not had the best review this month, but I’m glad it got that GOTM spot because it sure deserves it for all the effort put into the game.

27. Disney Infinity, Rayman Legends, Diablo 3, Payday 2, Saints Row 4, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons, and Gone Home all deserve those awesome scores certainly.

28. I’d expected a little more from The Bureau, but it’s honestly still a fine game, just one with its flaws definitely…

29. I’m pretty disappointed in Madden and NHL, especially seeing as Madden promised a lot and didn’t really accomplish much. It’s a little counterproductive to your series when you can’t even maintain solid scores between years, when you shouldn’t be having to change too much each time…

30. Killer is Dead and Lost Planet 3 doing mediocre is pretty depressing, as I was pretty psyched for the two games, but I guess I’ll just have to snatch a few copies for myself in order to form my own opinions on the matter…

31. Castle of Illusion seems to have done fine as a remake, as it lives pretty much up to the original in my mind. So that score I can live with.

32. Ibb and Obb could have been a little better, as could The Wonderful 101, but both seem to have their moments, and aren’t bad by any means.

33. As for the HD Remix of Kingdom Hearts 1.5, I’m pretty glad it did well. I’ll have to pick it up sometime here before too long, or at least before KH3 hits shelves…assuming it arrives before any of Valve’s promised third games…haha…

34. Looking through the Reviews Archive section is always fun, just to remind myself of some good games, and laugh at some of the worst scores there… I’m talking about you Colonial Marines and Ride to Hell…

35. The Activision Badges are pretty sweet to marvel at, and quite nostalgic as well. Also, the Game Over little trivia test was pretty original and interesting as well. Well done.

36. Final thoughts? I’d chalk this one up as yet another win, as you can’t seem to really go wrong with this magazine. It’s almost as good as the gift that just keeps on giving, and by that, I am of course referring to video games themselves…

EL FIN

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Mr. Miniike's Tea-Sipping Reviews

Album reviews and pop culture nothings by a Christian INFP New Yorker turboplebe with no musical talent. Mostly empty gushing. How can you resist?

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

