My GIO 30/30- Day One

[As Read on GIO.]

[Titled: RealTalk- Pitching an Idea for Life]

So, I suppose you all are wondering why I’ve gathered you here today, correct? Well, first of all, allow me to make a few announcements here… I’ve come to the conclusion that I should at least attempt- attempt being the operative word here, a 30/30 blog series at least once in my blogging career here on GIO. Now seems to be as good a time as any, as I will almost always surely be busy with work, so might as well get this thing started as soon as I possibly can. It’s a new day, a new month, so now seems to be a decent time to get this thing on the road. I will try my hardest to get a blog up every single day, whether it be in the early morning, or in the wee hours of the night. They might be long, they might be short- it all just depends on time, honestly. But I will try my darndest to make this work, I promise.

My second announcement is this: you’re probably wondering about the nature of this blog, as it has an intriguing title- or at least, in my opinion it is intriguing. Quite simply put, I mean to take a page from the role-playing games’ book here- inserting real time dialogue opportunities into life’s many choices and seeing the differences. Now, for those of you who remain confused and confuzzled, allow me to explain myself. Take, for example, two BioWare games of great (and ill) repute- Mass Effect and Dragon Age. Now, these games both feature an interactive dialogue wheel for their many important and mundane decisions, correct? That is what I am referring to when I mention the sacrosanct real time dialogue.

I do not mean to say that we should come up with a way to halt time and pull up a holographic dialogue and opportunity wheel, although that is certainly something that would be intriguing to see in the vastly distant future. No, instead I mean that we should think as heavily on our life decisions at breaking points or simple choices, and regard them as we do the holy choices of our games. Take a page from video gaming’s book for once, and enjoy a moment almost like the Twix commercials, you know. This blog is pretty simple actually: it’s basically about how we can learn from choice and opportunity in games, and how we can apply that to our everyday lives.

Sure, there are those among us who make it their goal to do a good, an evil, and a neutral playthrough of every role-playing game that offers them that afforded opportunity. Some of us choose to go the evil route first, maybe because it’s easier, or simply more amusing to be a renegade Shep- I don’t know the thousands of reasons we choose to do so, but we do. This does not mean we are a selfish, evil, malevolent, and twisted people as video gamers- it simply means we like to experiment with things we would never do in our real lives, and to see the depths to which a person- even a digital one, can sink. And on the opposite side of the spectrum, there are those of us who always go the paragon, good guy route the first few times through, and do our best to save the world, galaxy, or reality we are playing in.

I think what I’m really trying to say here is that if we simply paused for a minute before saying that cynical retort, before stealing that pack of ninety -seven cent bubblegum, before switching teams in Call of duty, or before simply deciding not to go to work, then the world would be a much better off place. Or at least, much better than it currently is. Sure, people will still make wrong choices- there’s nothing we can ever do to stop that, but hey, not only did they try to do the right thing, but they weighed their options before doing so, and were at least able to rationalize things if not justify them.

For example, if you look at things from a purely objective economic standpoint, as I learned long ago in one of my economics classes in college, you won’t be basing anything on subjectivity or bias, but instead on not only fact, but rationality. For a decision to be economic, it- first of all, needs to be an actual decision. Whether it’s choosing to tie your left or right shoe first, it is an economic choice in that it WAS a choice, and the opportunity cost was the shoe you chose to tie second, and thus did not tie first. It seems like such a simple, legitimate thing, but can also be incredibly complicated on a larger scale level.

Now, rationality is something different by economic standards. Normally, we attribute rationality to a level-headed, morally justified, correct choice. Whether that means saving that dog from the burning building or helping the old lady who fell down, it still seems rational- if not always logical. But rational thinking in its economic sense is quite different. A man could walk into a theater and shoot it up, and still be thinking rationally by economic standards. “But that’s insane!” You cry. And yes, you’d be very correct, I must admit. But it is no less rational by economic standards in that any decision that a) is a decision and b) can be reached no matter your state of being or sanity and peace, can be called a truly rational choice. To some, running into the burning building to save the dog would be quite an irrational decision in that a) you don’t make a habit of running towards fire, for safety reasons and b) the opportunity cost of buying a new dog easily outweighs that of losing your life, which to the best of our knowledge, we only get one of here on Earth.

I’m sure you’re wondering just where I am going with all of this talk of gaming, then choices, then economic thought, and you’d be right to question my motives. I’ll meander back on around to my original source topic: putting dialogue and thought into our actions before or as we think and do them. Seriously, folks, no amount of me talking you through my explanations can actually make you all do this- and trust me, even the best of us need to do this. I know this isn’t such a video game heavy blog as mine normally are, and that I’m basically playing psychologist and psychoanalyst here, but please. We should all “snap into a slimjim” or “take two with twix” every once and awhile. At the least, use to it reevaluate your life’s status…

But, hey, that’s enough on this topic, and I’ve done more than enough talking on the idea. Whether or not you choose to weigh in on your thoughts and actions as heavily as we do in excellent role-playing games such as Dragon Age, Mass Effect, or even Telltale’s The Walking Dead series, is entirely up to you. All I can do is promise to do my best to weigh in correctly, or rationally rather, on my own- and of course, finish my 30/30 in the allotted time… Until the next time folks, I bid you a fond farewell, and I hope you will take what is sure to be an interesting journey alongside me for the next twenty-nine days. Adieu.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Mr. Miniike's Tea-Sipping Reviews

Album reviews and pop culture nothings by a Christian INFP New Yorker turboplebe with no musical talent. Mostly empty gushing. How can you resist?

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

